Poet Laureate Appearances

Poet Laureate collage

Date Event Description Location Links
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Speaker

Speaker
North Carolina A&T University
Convocation, Harrison Auditorium
9:00 A.M.
 

Friday, March 22, 2019 Speaker

Speaker
"On the Shoulders of Many"
Women's History Month Celebration with Jaki Shelton Green
Efland-Cheeks Community Center
117 Richmond Road
9:30 A.M. - 12:00 P.M.

Sunday, March 24, 2019 Poetry Reading

Nazim Hikmet Festival
Page-Walker Arts & History Center
119 Ambassador Loop
1:00 - 6:00 P.M.

Tuesday, March 26, 2019 Arts Day

Speaker, Arts Day
Edenton Street United Methodist Church
11:00 A.M.

Wednesday, March 27, 2019 Poetry Reading

Scott Northern Wake Campus, Wake Technical Community College
6600 Louisburg Road
Building NE Room 204
11:00 A.M.

Thursday, March 28, 2019 Speaker

Speaker, Women's History Month Celebration
NC Museum of Art
2119 Blue Ridge Road
4:00 P.M.

Friday, March 29, 2019 Reading

Reading/Lecture
Southern Wake Campus - Wake Tech Community College
1901 Fayetteville Road
Building SL
10:00 A.M.

Saturday, March 30, 2019 Doris Betts Literary Festival

Workshop and Reading, Doris Betts Literary Festival
Mitchell Community College
Auditorium, 219 N. Academy Street
9:30 A.M.

Sunday, March 31, 2019 Speaker

NC Reading Association
Raleigh Convention Center
March 31 - April 1, 2019

Monday, April 1, 2019 Meeting with the US Poet Laureate

Meeting with the US Poet Laureate
Ashe Civic Center
7:30 P.M.

Tuesday, April 2, 2019 Poetry Reading

Poetry Reading
St. Augustine University 
11:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.

Thursday, April 4, 2019 Keynote Presentation

Keynote Presentation
Literary Festival
College of the Albemarle
1208 N. Road Street
Elizabeth City
1:00 P.M.

Saturday, April 6, 2019 Speaker

National Poetry Month Kick Off Speaker
McIntyre's Books
Fearrington Village
Chapel Hill
11:00 A.M.

Sunday, April 7, 2019 Reading

Poetry Reading
The Burwell School
318 N. Churton Street
2:30 P.M.

 

Monday, April 8, 2019 Residency

Artist Residency
Efland-Cheeks Elementary School

Private Event

Tuesday, April 9, 2019 Workshop

Workshop, The University of Mount Olive
634 Henderson Street
1:00 - 3:00 P.M.

 

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 Residency

Artist Residency
Efland-Cheek Elementary School

 

Private Event

Thursday, April 11, 2019 Poetry Reading

Poetry Reading
Davie County Library
371 N. Main Street 
6:30 P.M.

Friday, April 12, 2019 Residency

Artist Residency
Efland-Cheeks Elementary School

Private Event
 

Saturday, April 13, 2019 Poetry Reading

Poetry Reading
Asheville Word Fest
YMI Cultural Center
2044 Eagle Street
8:00 P.M.
 

Sunday, April 14, 2019 Speaker

Asheville Word Fest
Dinner Conversation with NC Poet Laureate
Location and Time TBA.
 

Tuesday, April 16, 2019 Residency

Artist Residency
Efland-Cheeks Elementary School
April 16 - 17, 2019
 

Private Event

Thursday, April 18, 2019 Speaker

Speaker, On the Same Poem Event
Forsyth Central Library
660 W. 5th Street
11:30 A.M.

Saturday, April 20, 2019 Poetry Reading

Poetry Reading
McIntyre's Books
Fearrington Village
11:00 A.M.

 

Monday, April 22, 2019 Proclamation Ceremony

NC Poet Laureate Proclamation
Hillsborough State of the Town Address

Thursday, April 25, 2019 Speaker

Speaker
Appalachian State University
April 25 - 26

Friday, April 26, 2019 Speaker

Speaker
Appalachian State University

Private Event

Saturday, April 27, 2019 Workshop

Workshop, Write Now 2019
Triangle Association of Freelancers
The McKimmon Center
1101 Gorman Street
10:00 A.M.

Sunday, April 28, 2019 Reading

Poetry Reading
Mebane Public Library
101 South First Street
3:00 PM

Tuesday, April 30, 2019 Workshop

Workshop
Orange-Durham County NC Writers' Network
Chapel Hill Library
209 Library Drive
6:00 - 8:00 P.M.

Wednesday, May 22, 2019 Speaker

Speaker
Just Space Conference
Duke University

Thursday, May 23, 2019 Poetry Reading

Poetry Reading
High Point Centennial Station Arts Center
7:00 P.M.
 

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 Keynote Speaker

Keynote Speaker
NC Cooperative Extension EFNEP Anniversary Speaker

Thursday, July 25, 2019 Speaker

Speaker
NC State University Young and Teen Writers Workshop
1:00 P.M.

Thursday, September 5, 2019 Poetry Reading

Poetry Reading
Carolina Mountains Literary Festival
September 5 - 7

Saturday, September 14, 2019 Workshop Facilitator

Facilitator
Art for the Soul Workshop (Private)

Tuesday, September 17, 2019 Poetry Reading

Poetry Reading
On The Same Page Literary Festival
September 17-21

 

Friday, September 27, 2019 Reading

Reading
Art for the Soul Exhibition