Inaugural Bowles Screenwriting Award Among 18 NC Fellowships Awarded

Raleigh, N.C. (December 9, 2019) — A Davidson screenwriter is the recipient of an inaugural award given in memory of Elliott Bowles, an aspiring filmmaker, by his family to the North Carolina Arts Council.

Jonathan Strong, a screenwriter, and filmmaker received a $10,000 fellowship to pursue screenwriting through the generous donation of his mother Beverly Nipper Bowles and father, Roman Bowles, Sr.

“The family wanted to honor Elliott’s passion for film and screenwriting in a way that would create opportunities for other artists,” Mrs. Beverly Nipper Bowles said. “By supporting the Artist Fellowship program, we are honoring Elliott’s memory and recognizing the potential of other talented artists in our state.”

The author of several screenplays, Elliott pursued acting roles while attending the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill where he received a BS in Psychology. The family will also fund the Bowles Screenwriting Award in 2020.

Seventeen other artists across North Carolina received fellowship awards for 2019-20 from the N.C. Arts Council in the literary categories of fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, screenwriting and playwriting and in the music categories of composition and songwriting.

Recipients were selected by panels comprised of artists and arts professionals with discipline-specific expertise and experience. The recognition of these artists with the fellowship is one of the many ways the N.C. Arts Council supports diverse and innovative artists living and working in our state. 


Below is a listing of all 2019 fellowship recipients.


Jonathan Strong, Inaugural Bowles Screenwriting Award, Davidson (Mecklenburg County)

Pam Baggett, Poetry, Cedar Grove (Orange County)

Sarah Bryan, Creative Nonfiction, Durham (Durham County)

Mylène Dressler, Fiction, Greensboro (Guilford County)

Marianne Jay Erhardt, Creative Nonfiction Winston-Salem (Forsyth County)

Lynden Harris, Playwriting, Cedar Grove (Orange County)

Jennie Malboeuf, Poetry, Greensboro (Guilford County)

Paula Martinac, Fiction, Charlotte (Mecklenburg County)

Emilia Phillips, Creative Nonfiction, Greensboro (Guilford County)

Susan Southard, Creative Nonfiction Southern Pines (Moore County)

D.M. Spratley, Poetry, Durham (Durham County)


Derrick J. Hines, Songwriting, Gastonia (Gaston County)

Brian Horton, Musical Composition, Durham (Durham County)

Steve Haines, Musical Composition, Greensboro (Guilford County)

Andrew Finn Magill, Musical Composition, Asheville (Buncombe County)

Tift Merritt, Songwriting, Raleigh (Wake County)

Christy Smith, Songwriting, Raleigh (Wake County)

John Westmoreland, Songwriting, Pittsboro (Orange County)

For more information about how the N.C. Arts Council supports artists visit


About the North Carolina Arts Council

The North Carolina Arts Council builds on our state’s long-standing love of the arts, leading the way to a more vibrant future. The Arts Council is an economic catalyst, fueling a thriving nonprofit creative sector that generates $2.12 billion in annual direct economic activity. The Arts Council also sustains diverse arts expression and traditions while investing in innovative approaches to art-making. The North Carolina Arts Council has proven to be a champion for youth by cultivating tomorrow’s creative citizens through arts education.